“It is better to lose your pride with someone you love rather than to lose that someone you love with your useless pride.”   -John Ruskin

P is for Pride

You have just accomplished a great achievement and you are feeling proud. You are feeling not only happiness but confidence in yourself. So how could this emotion ever be listed as one of the seven deadly sins?  Pride has two sides, one that is positive and the other negative. Pride can also come in many forms.  Although feelings of pride can be healthy this same feeling can trick us into thinking we are better than others.  Feeling pride can motivate us to engage in achieving success but it can also make us feel superior to other people.  It is the negative side of pride, the self-righteousness we can feel which contributes to its being found on the list of the seven deadly sins.

Synonym of pride – honor
Antonym of pride – humility

Other Blogging From A-to-Z Challenge Posts 2014 (Emotions)
Blogging from A to Z Challenge Theme Reveal 2014

A is for Anger
B is for Bliss
C is for Compassion
D is for Deceit
E is for Envy
F is for Fear
G is for Grief
H is for Hurt
I is for Insecurity
J is for Jilted
K is for Kindness
L is for Love and Loss (of a pet)
M is for Melancholy
N is for Nervousness
O is for Optimism
P is for Pride
Q is for Quizzical
R is for Resentment
S is for Sadness
T is for Thankfulness
U is for Unfeeling
V is for Victimization (emotional)
W is for Worry
X is for XOXO
Y is for Yearning
Z is for Zeal



  1. I’ve never thought about pride having two faces, but I have wondered why it’s among the Seven Deadly Sins. I learned from this post. Thanks for the follow, too!

  2. The quote is so true and I agree what you said about pride as well. I absolutely cannot stand self righteous people…

Leave a Reply to mph96 Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s